Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Ministry of Industrial Development, SMEs and Cooperatives (Cooperatives Division)

The International Co-operative Alliance


The International Co-operative Alliance (ICA) is an independent, non-government association, which unites, represents and serves co-operatives Worldwide.
The ICA was founded in London in 1895. Its members are national and international co-operative organizations in all sectors of activity including agriculture, banking, energy, industry, insurance, fisheries, housing, tourism and consumer co-operatives. ICA has more than 230 member organizations from over 100 countries representing more than 730 million individuals worldwide.
In 1946, the ICA was one of the first non-governmental organizations to be accorded United Nations Consultative Status. Today it is one of the forty-one organizations holding Category I Consultative Status with the UN Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC).
Working from its Head Office and Regional Offices, ICA helps to build strong, viable co-operatives in developing countries by acting as a coordinator and catalyst of co-operative development. The ICA is committed to providing information, allowing co-operatives to communicate with one another, and promoting co-operative development and trade worldwide.
Objectives of the ICA
The major objective of the ICA is to promote and strengthen autonomous co-operatives throughout the world. Through actions taken at the international, regional and national levels, the ICA also seeks to:
Promote and protect co-operative values and principles
Facilitate the development of economic and other mutually beneficial relations between its member organizations;
Further the economic and social progress of its members and their communities.
For more information please visit the following website: